WELCOME TO OUR

BOTTLE MARKET GIN-PARADISE

More than 30 producers and importers will welcome you to our GINsel ("gin island") and present juniper schnapps from twelve countries. Altogether, you can discover more than 100 types. Whether London dry, new western style, sloe or barrel-aged, we have the right gin for every taste!

35 At the GINothek bar alone, you will find 35 fantastic gins.
But that's only as long as stocks last!

Let the experts tell you about the special features of the individual brands, and find your favourite for the upcoming Christmas season. Test a gin with various tonics. Rosemary, pepper, or classic cucumber? Learn what garnishes best complement the fine aromas of your new favourites.

At the gin tastings, you can try various types, learn about the differences between them and how they are made, and listen to a few anecdotes as well.

GIN FACTS

WHAT ACTUALLY IS GIN?

Some people think the EU does too much, others think it does too little. The fact is that the EU regulation on spirit drinks defines what gin is and what official types there are.

Here's an excerpt from the revised regulation of May 2019:

GIN IS A SPIRIT

..., which is produced by flavouring ethyl alcohol* of agricultural origin with juniper berries (Juniperus communis L.).

IT'S MINIMUM ALCOHOLIC STRENGTH

... is 37.5 % by volume.

THE PRODUCTION

... of gin may use only flavouring substances and/or extracts, provided the juniper taste is predominant.

THE TERM „GIN“

... may be supplemented by the term "dry" if it does not contain added sweetening exceeding 0.1 g per litre of the final product.

So much for the official terms.

Now what are the official varieties of the popular juniper spirit? And what are the official types of the popular juniper berry spirit? In fact, there are only three! They are London Gin, Distilled Gin and Sloe Gin. They are London gin, distilled gin and sloe gin. The differences are not in flavour, but in the method of production. All other types are either historic or have become popularly established over time. However, their names are unofficial, which explains why you will find different information about them online, in newspapers and in magazines.

* Ethyl alcohol is a neutral alcohol without a detectable own taste, usually derived from grain, with an alcohol content of at least 96% by volume. It is produced by a natural fermentation process and not artificially synthetised.


  • OFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    London Gin


    This name doesn't refer to the region where the gin is made - it can be produced anywhere. Its aroma is produced exclusively by the distillation of ethyl alcohol with the addition of ALL natural plant-based substances used. However, for London gin, the botanical substances must be added collectively and at the beginning of the distillation process. The resulting distillate has a minimum alcohol content of 70% by volume and is not coloured.

  • OFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Distilled/Dry Gin


    For this type of gin, the botanical substances can be added at any time during distillation. A combination of the distillate and ethyl alcohol of the same composition, purity and alcohol content is also possible.
    Aroma substances or aroma extracts identical with natural ingredients may be added. HOWEVER: Gin which is produced by the simple addition of essences or aromatic substances to ethyl alcohol, i.e. without any distillation process, cannot be termed distilled gin.

  • OFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Sloe Gin


    Strictly speaking, sloe gin is a sloe liqueur. It is created through maceration (steeping) of sloes in gin, which causes the soluble parts of the fruit to transfer into the gin. Sometimes sloe juice is also added. Only natural aroma substances and extracts may be used. The minimum alcohol content of this type of gin is 25% by volume, and the sloe berries give it a red colour. Sloe gin may also be described with the addition "liqueur".

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Old Tom Gin


    Old Tom is the predecessor of the gin we know today. Its roots are in the 18th century. At that time, fine distillation methods and equipment had not yet been developed, and that naturally affected the quality of the distillate. The alcohol content was very high, and because of the strong juniper flavour, it wasn't that pleasant to drink. To make it more palatable, liquorice or syrup were added. Sweetened in this way, it was often used for cocktails, for example Tom Collins. Today, brands such as Hayman’s, Citadelle and Both’s are responsible for a comeback of Old Tom gin.

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Compound-Bathtub Gin


    Compound gin is a term for the manufacturing method, and it is a poor-quality drink. It is simply manufactured by placing the botanical ingredients into neutral alcohol without any distillation process. The soluble aroma substances are transferred into the liquid. After their "bath" in neutral alcohol, the botanical ingredients are filtered out, leaving a cloudy, usually brownish alcohol. And that's it! During Prohibition, the term bathtub gin was coined, for obvious reasons. Ableforth’s in the UK produces bathtub gin, although naturally not in actual bathtubs!

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    New Western Gin


    The special characteristic of this still fairly new category is that the juniper note doesn't dominate the taste. The other botanical ingredients can contribute with an equal intensity, or even dominate over the juniper. Tanqueray, a traditional distillery that today belongs to the global operator DIAGEO, was probably one of the first producers to move away from the dominance of the juniper flavour. Hendricks Gin is another, world-famous pioneer of this style of gin. New Western Gin is produced just like distilled gin and London gin, which guarantees a high quality.

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Cordial Gin


    In the 19th century, the distilling process was refined and it became possible to distil higher-quality gins. Cordial gin was developed after Old Tom and before dry gin. Currently, cordial gin is undergoing a Renaissance. After its re-discovery in 2017 in archived documents, Sipsmith’s and Hayman’s started producing this variant. Because consumers were accustomed to the sweetness of Old Tom, cordial gin was also sweetened. Originally it was a liqueur and therefore had a lower alcohol content. Today, cordial gin has a higher alcohol content and can therefore be termed gin.

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Reserved/Barrel Aged Gin


    The difference from the usual method here is that a classic distilled gin or London gin is not bottled directly after production, but first stored for a period in wooden barrels. Unlike whisky, there are no rules about how long it has to be matured. Usually, the barrels previously contained other spirits such as whisky, brandy or wine. As a result, not only notes of wood, but also the aroma of the previous contents go into reserve gin. Because of this barrel storage, this type is usually a yellowish-brown, giving it the name yellow gin. What at first glance seems like a new style of gin actually has a long tradition for practical reasons. For example, the British Royal Navy received a considerable allowance of gin every day to bolster the motivation of sailors, and also for medical reasons. Because of the quinine content, gin and tonic protected soldiers from malaria. And because bottles aren't so practical on board ship, the gin was stored in barrels. Beefeater, Jodhpur, Alambics and Dictator are just some of the companies that produce reserve gin today.

  • UNOFFICIAL CATEGORIES

    Cream Gin


    This gin is the black sheep among juniper spirits. It is practically a further evolution of Old Tom and to improve the flavour, not only sugar but also cream was added. This was an attempt to make it as palatable as possible, and at the time it was successful. Today, there's a modern variant of cream gin, produced by Masters of Malt. Originally, the cream was added to the finished distillate, but now it is added during distillation and treated like a botanical substance. This method provides the cream aroma without the oily film of the past, and the distillate remains clear. A cold distillation process is used for cream gin.

  • GEOGRAPHICAL CATEGORIES

    Plymouth Gin/strong


    Until just a few years ago, the name Plymouth gin was protected in the same way that Scotch is. Therefore, Plymouth gin had to be produced in the English town of the same name. This gin was very popular at the beginning of the 20th century. There was even a tradition in the Royal Navy whereby every ship was provided with a wooden box that held two bottles of Plymouth gin Navy strength along with suitable glasses. Today, only one Plymouth gin distillery remains that produces this tradition-rich spirit: Black Friars Distillery. It has changed owners several times, and now belongs to Pernod Ricard. Its roots go back to the year 1793. Plymouth gin has a more subtle juniper note than the official types and also largely does without any bitterness.

  • GEOGRAPHICAL CATEGORIES

    Vilnius Gin


    This gin must be produced in Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania. However, it is irrelevant for the global market and more of a regional product. Since 1907, Vilnius gin has been produced by a single distillery. The main aromas are juniper, coriander, orange peel and dill. It is produced in the same way as London Gin, but with a higher alcohol content than the classic London gin, at 45 % by volume.

  • GEOGRAPHICAL CATEGORIES

    Mahón Gin


    This gin must be produced in Mahón, the capital of Menorca (the neighbouring island of Majorca). It's another type which barely plays a role on international markets. Unlike all other gins, it is based not on a distillate from grain, but from wine. This is another gin we can thank Britain for, because when the British occupied the island of Menorca in the 18th century, they didn't want to go without one of their favourite drinks. In response to the demand, the Xoriguer family decided to create a gin, and soon it was popular throughout the island. From around 1750 to the present day, the Xoriguer family has been producing their Mahón gin and determinedly protecting the secret of its recipe. Today, the company is the island's sole producer of Mahón gin.

Liebe Spirits-Fans,

wir haben uns entschieden, den diesjährigen BOTTLE MARKET nicht stattfinden zu lassen und auf den 19. - 21. November 2021 zu verschieben.

Euch möchten wir ein tolles Event mit der gewohnt geselligen und entspannten BOTTLE MARKET Atmosphäre bieten. Wir wünschen uns, dass Ihr Euch mit Freunden trefft, fachsimpelt und Eurer Leidenschaft für spannende Spirituosen und hochwertigen Genuss frönen könnt. Dies wird in diesem Jahr leider nicht wie in den Vorjahren möglich sein, denn die Auflagen würden massive Einschränkungen bedeuten.

Damit Ihr wenigstens ein bisschen BOTTLE MARKET im November erleben könnt, wird es diverse Online-Tastings geben. Dazu im September mehr.

Wir bedauern die Entscheidung gegen ein Event in 2020, denn das Tollste an unserem Veranstaltungsjahr sind die Tage mit unseren Ausstellern und Besuchern, wenn der BOTTLE MARKET live und in Farbe stattfindet. Wir genießen die vielen netten Gespräche, den geselligen Trubel und den Duft feinster Spirituosen, der durch die Halle 7 wabert. Umso mehr freut es uns, dass wir im kommenden Jahr zwei Mal das Vergnügen mit Euch haben können!

Wann, wenn nicht jetzt!
Schon lange sind wir der Meinung, dass der BOTTLE MARKET auch zwei Mal jährlich funktioniert und stehen damit nicht allein. So nutzen wir diese ungewöhnliche Zeit für neue Ideen. 2021 wollen wir erstmals einen BOTTLE MARKET Spring veranstalten! So viel ist klar: Es wird eine Kombination aus „drinnen & draußen“, aus „Spirits & Food“ werden.

SAVE THE DATE
16. bis 18. April 2021



Näheres dazu im September – stay tuned!

 

WILLKOMMEN IM

BOTTLE MARKET GINSEL-PARADIES

Über 25 Hersteller und Importeure erwarten Dich in unserer GINsel, um Dir Wacholderschnaps aus zwölf Ländern zu präsentieren. Insgesamt kannst du weit über 100 Sorten entdecken – ob London Dry, New Western Style, Sloe oder Barrel Aged, wir haben für jeden Geschmack den richtigen Gin am Start!

35 An der GINothek allein warten schon 35 fantastische Wacholderschnäpse auf dich.
Aber Achtung, nur so lange der Vorrat reicht!

Lass Dir was über die Besonderheiten der einzelnen Marken erzählen und finde bei uns Deinen Liebling für die anschließende Weihnachtszeit. Teste einen Gin mit verschiedenen Tonics. Rosmarin, Pfeffer oder ganz klassisch Gurke? Lerne, welches Garnish die feinen Aromen von Deinem neuen Favoriten am besten unterstützen.


 

In den Gin-Tastings kannst du verschiedenste Sorten verkosten, viel über die Unterschiede und ihre Herstellungsprozesse erfahren und die eine oder andere Anekdote mitnehmen.

GIN FACTS

WAS IST EIGENTLICH GIN
Dem einen regelt die EU zu viel, dem anderen nicht genug. Fakt ist, die EU hat in einer Spirituosenverordnung definiert, was Gin ist und welche offiziellen Sorten es gibt. Hier ein Auszug aus der überarbeiteten Verordnung vom Mai 2019:

Gin ist eine Spirituose, die durch Aromatisieren von Ethylalkohol* landwirtschaftlichen Ursprungs mit Wacholderbeeren (Juniperus communis L.) hergestellt wird.

Ihr Mindestalkoholgehalt beträgt 37,5 % Vol.

Bei der Herstellung von Gin dürfen nur Aromastoffe und/oder Aromaextrakte verwendet werden, wobei der Geschmack nach Wacholder vorherrschend bleiben muss.

Die Bezeichnung „Gin“ darf grundsätzlich durch den Begriff „dry“ ergänzt werden, wenn der Gehalt zugesetzter süßender Erzeugnisse nicht mehr als 0,1 g/Liter des Fertigerzeugnisses beträgt.
Soweit das Amtsdeutsch. Und welches sind nun die offiziellen Sorten der beliebten Wacholderspirituose? Es sind tatsächlich nur drei! Nämlich London Gin, Distilled Gin und Sloe Gin, die sich nicht auf den Geschmack beziehen, sondern vielmehr auf das Herstellungsverfahren. Alle anderen Sorten sind entweder historisch oder haben sich „eingebürgert“. Sie sind aber inoffiziell, weshalb im Internet, in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften unterschiedlichste Informationen zu finden sind.

* Ethylalkohol ist ein Neutralalkohol ohne erkennbaren Eigengeschmack, üblicherweise aus Getreide, mit einem Alkoholgehalt von mindestens 96 % Vol., der durch einen natürlichen Gärungsprozess entsteht und nicht künstlich synthetisiert wird.
KATEGORIEN
London Gin Diese Bezeichnung bezieht sich nicht auf die Herstellungsregion, die Sorte kann überall hergestellt werden. Ihr Aroma wird ausschließlich durch die Destillation von Ethylalkohol unter Zusatz ALLER verwendeten natürlichen pflanzlichen Stoffe erzeugt. Wobei der Zusatz der Botanicals beim London Gin gesammelt und zu Beginn der Destillation erfolgen muss. Das daraus entstehende Destillat hat einen Mindestalkoholgehalt von 70 % Vol. und wird nicht gefärbt.

Distilled/Dry Gin
Hier darf der Botanical-Zusatz zu einem beliebigen Zeitpunkt während des Destillationsverfahrens erfolgen. Auch eine Kombination aus dem gewonnenen Destillat und Ethylalkohol der gleichen Zusammensetzung, Reinheit und gleichem Alkoholgehalt ist möglich.
Zur Aromatisierung dürfen naturidentische Aromastoffe und/oder Aromaextrakte verwendet werden. ABER: Gin, der durch den einfachen Zusatz von Essenzen oder Aromen zum Ethylalkohol hergestellt wird, sprich ohne Destillationsverfahren, gilt nicht als Distilled Gin.

Sloe Gin
Streng genommen ist Sloe Gin ein Schlehen-Likör. Er entsteht durch Mazeration (Einweichen) von Schlehen (engl. sloe) in Gin, wobei die löslichen Bestandteile der Früchte in den Gin übergehen. Gegebenenfalls wird auch Schlehensaft hinzugegeben. Es dürfen nur natürliche Aromastoffe und Aromaextrakte verwendet werden. Der Mindestalkoholgehalt dieser Sorte beträgt 25 % Vol. und ist wegen seiner Herstellung grundsätzlich rötlich. Die vorgeschriebene Bezeichnung Sloe Gin darf durch das Wort „Likör“ ergänzt werden.
INOFFIZIELLE KATEGORIEN
Compound-Bathtub Gin
Compound Gin bezeichnet ein Herstellungsverfahren (engl. to compound = etwas anrühren, vermischen) und ist von geringster Qualität. Die Botanicals werden bei der Herstellung quasi einfach in neutralem Alkohol eingelegt (mazeriert), eine Destillation findet hier zu keinem Zeitpunkt statt. Die löslichen Aromastoffe gehen beim Mazerationsverfahren in die Flüssigkeit über. Nach dem „Bad“ in Neutralalkohol werden die Botanicals aus der Flüssigkeit gefiltert und hinterlassen einen trüben, meist bräunlichen Alkohol. Schwups ... fertig! Es entwickelte sich dann irgendwann während der Prohibition der Begriff Bathtub Gin – der Grund liegt wohl auf der Hand. Ableforth’s aus Großbritanien stellt Bathtub Gin her, aber natürlich nicht in der heimischen Badewanne!

New Western Gin
Diese noch recht junge Kategorie zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass die Wacholdernote geschmacklich nicht mehr dominieren muss. Die anderen Botanicals können gleichwertig in ihrer Intensität sein oder den Wacholder sogar in den Hintergrund rücken. Tanqueray, eine Traditionsbrennerei, die heute zum Weltkonzern DIAGEO gehört, war wohl einer der ersten Hersteller, der dem Wacholdergeschmack seine Dominanz nahm. Hendricks Gin ist ein weiterer, weltbekannter Pionier dieser geschmacklichen Stilrichtung. New Western Gin wird wie Destillierter Gin und London Gin hergestellt, was eine hohe Qualität dieser Kategorie garantiert.

Old Tom Gin
Der Old Tom ist der Vorgänger unserer Gins, wie wir sie heute kennen und hat seine Wurzeln im 18. Jahrhundert. Zu seiner Zeit waren feine Destillationsverfahren und -gerätschaften noch nicht entwickelt, was sich leider in der Destillatqualität widerspiegelte. Er hatte nach der Herstellung noch einen sehr hohen Alkoholgehalt und war wegen der starken Wacholdernote schwer genießbar. Um das Problem zu lösen, gab man Süßholz oder Zuckersirup hinzu, um den Geschmack harmonischer zu machen. So gesüßt wurde er häufig für Cocktails verwendet, z. B. den Tom Collins. Heute verhelfen Marken wie Hayman’s, Citadelle und Both’s dem Old Tom zu seinem Comeback.

Cream Gin
Dieser Gin ist das schwarze Schaf der Wacholderspirituosen. Er ist quasi die Evolution des Old Tom und wurde aus geschmacklichen Gründen nicht nur mit Zucker, sondern auch mit Sahne versetzt, um zu retten, was noch zu retten ist, und dieses Vorgehen war erfolgreich in seiner Zeit. Aber auch für den Cream Gin gibt es einen modernen Ansatz, und zwar von Masters of Malt. Anders als damals, wo die Sahne dem fertigen Destillat zugesetzt wurde, wird die Sahne heute bereits während der Destillation hinzugegeben und wie ein Botanical behandelt. So gewinnt man die Sahnearomen, nicht aber den öligen Fettfilm und das Destillat bleibt klar. Hierfür wird das Kältedestillationsverfahren genutzt.

Cordial Gin
Im 19. Jahrhundert wurden Destillationsverfahren verfeinert und hochwertigere Gins konnten gebrannt werden. So folgte auf den Old Tom und vor dem Dry Gin der Cordial Gin, welcher aktuell seine Renaissance erfährt. 2017 wurde er in Archivtexten entdeckt und von Sipsmith’s und Hayman’s hergestellt. Da sich die Konsumenten an die Süße vom Old Tom gewöhnt hatten, wurde auch der Cordial gesüßt. Er war damals eher ein Likör, hatte also einen niedrigeren Alkoholgehalt, darf sich heute aber dank höherer Volumenprozent als Gin bezeichnen.

Reserve Gin
Anders als üblich wird ein klassischer Distilled Gin oder London Gin hier nicht direkt nach der Produktion in Flaschen abgefüllt, sondern noch für einige Zeit in Holzfässern eingelagert. Anders als bei Whisky gibt es hier keine Vorgaben, wie lang die Lagerzeit sein muss. Üblicherweise waren die Fässer vorher von anderen Spirituosen wie Whisky, Brandy, aber auch Wein belegt. So färben zusätzlich zu den Holznoten auch die Aromen der Vorbelegung auf den Reserve Gin ab. Durch die Fasslagerung ist er meist gelblich/bräunlich, weshalb er auch Yellow Gin genannt wird. Was auf den ersten Blick wie eine neue Stilblüte im Gin-Bereich anmuten mag, hat aus praktischen Gründen tatsächlich eine lange Tradition. Die britische Royal Navy erhielt beispielsweise täglich eine erhebliche Menge Gin, um die Motivation der Matrosen hochzuhalten und auch aus medizinischen Gründen. Gin Tonic schützte die Soldaten wegen des Chinins im Tonic gegen Malaria. Und da Flaschen auf einem schwankenden Schiff nicht nützlich sind, lagerte der Gin in Fässern. Beefeater, Jodhpur, Alam- bics oder Dictator sind ein paar der neuzeitlichen Brands mit Reserve Gin.
GEOGRAFISCHE KATEGORIEN
Plymouth Gin/strong
Es handelte sich hierbei um eine bis vor wenigen Jahren geschützte Namensbezeichnung wie beim Scotch. Entsprechend musste ein Plymouth Gin auch in der namensgebenden englischen Stadt produziert werden. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts war dieser Gin sehr populär. In der Royal Navy war es sogar Tradition, dass jedes neue Schiff mit einer hölzernen Box ausgestattet wurde, in der zwei Flaschen Plymouth Gin Navy Strength und die passenden Gläser waren. Heute gibt es nur noch eine einzige Plymouth-Gin-Brennerei, die diese traditionsreiche Spirituose produziert, und zwar Black Friars Distillery. Nach einigen Verkäufen gehören sie aktuell zum Konzern Pernod Ricard. Ihre Wurzeln gehen aber zurück bis ins Jahr 1793. Der Plymouth Gin hat eine dezentere Wacholdernote als die offiziellen Sorten und verzichtet auch weitestgehend auf Bitternoten.

Vilnius Gin
Dieser Gin darf nur in Vilnius, der Hauptstadt Litauens, hergestellt werden. Für den Weltmarkt ist er allerdings irrelevant und eher ein regionales Erzeugnis. Seit 1907 wird der Vilnius Gin von einer einzigen Brennerei produziert, seine Aromen sind im Schwerpunkt Wacholder, Koriander, Orangenschalen und Dill. Er wird wie ein London Gin hergestellt, hat aber mit rund 45 % Vol. einen höheren Alkoholgehalt als der klassische London Gin.

Mahón Gin
Dieser Gin darf nur in Mahón, der Hauptstadt Menorcas (Nachbarinsel von Mallorca), hergestellt werden. Auch dieser Gin spielt international keine wirkliche Rolle. Anders als alle anderen Gins basiert er nicht auf einem Destillat aus Getreide, sondern aus Wein. Auch diesen Gin hat die Welt den Briten zu verdanken, die im 18. Jahrhundert die Insel Menorca besetzten, aber nicht auf ihren geliebten Gin verzichten wollten. Kurzerhand entschied sich die Familie Xoriguer, einen Gin zu kreieren, der sich schnell inselweiter Beliebtheit erfreute. Von ca. 1750 bis heute produzieren die Xoriguers ihren Mahón Gin und hüten das Geheimnis ihrer Gin-Rezeptur wie ihren Augapfel. Sie sind heute der einzige Produzent auf der Insel.
  • Hausberg Gin Bottle Market Bremen
  • Gentle Gin Bottle Market Bremen
  • Copper Head Bottle Market Bremen
  • Gin Verkostung Bottle Market Bremen
  • Gin Glas Drink Bottle Market Bremen
  • Bottle Market Bremen Besucher